Bienvenido! - Willkommen! - Welcome!

Bitácora Técnica de Tux&Cía., Santa Cruz de la Sierra, BO
Bitácora Central: Tux&Cía.
Bitácora de Información Avanzada: Tux&Cía.-Información
May the source be with you!
Showing posts with label openoffice. Show all posts
Showing posts with label openoffice. Show all posts

Friday, March 18, 2011

Error 1303 installing OOo 3

====================
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/228658 .
You will receive the above error if either of the following is true for the folder in which you are installing Office:
  • The SYSTEM group does not have Full Control privileges.
    -or-
  • The Everyone group does not have Full Control privileges. 
Source
READ this

""If you perform an administrative installation using setup /a, you need to make sure that the file msvc90.dll is installed on the system. This file is required for OpenOffice.org to start after an administrative installation. You can get the file from http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... 4B9F2BC1BF""
Once installed try to install open office again and it should work.
=====================
For example, this problem has been reported to occur when there were only Read permissions on the following folders or any other subfolders of these folders:
  • \Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio
  • \Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared
  • \Program Files
  • \Program Files\Common Files
Even though Microsoft Office is being installed into the \Program Files\Microsoft Office folder, there are shared features that must be installed into other folders on your hard disk.
 To resolve this problem, ensure that you have the necessary permissions on your hard disk or disks. To do this, follow these steps.
NOTE: Because there are several versions of Microsoft Windows, the following steps may be different on your computer. If they are, see your product documentation to complete these steps.
  1. In Windows NT Explorer, select the folder.
  2. Right-click the folder, and then click Properties on the shortcut menu.
  3. On the Security tab, click Permissions.
  4. Select the Everyone group, and then click Full Control in the Type of Access list.
  5. Select the Replace Permissions on Subdirectories check box.
  6. Click OK.
  7. Click Yes to the prompt confirming whether you want to replace permissions on all subdirectories.
  8. Click OK in the folder name Properties dialog box (where folder name is the name of the folder that you selected in step 1).
  9. Run Office Setup.

Saturday, March 12, 2011

OpenOffice in server mode

OpenOffice in server mode as a multithreaded service
OpenOffice can be used in headless mode, but it has not been built to handle a lot of requests in a stressfull production environment.
Using OpenOffice in headless mode has several issues:
  • The process might die/become unavailable.
  • There are several memory leaks issues.
  • Opening several OpenOffice "workers" does not scale as expected, and needs some tweaking to really have different open proccesses (having several OpenOffice copies, several services, running under different users.)
As suggested, jodconverter can be used to access the OpenOffice process.
Run multiple instances of OpenOffice on different ports.
I'd just like to add that OpenOffice doesn't seem to be stable. We run 10 instances of it in a production environment and set the code up to re-try with another instance if the first attempt fails. This way when one of the OpenOffice servers crashes (or doesn't crash but doesn't respond either) production is not affected. Since it's a pain to keep restarting the servers on a daily basis, we're slowly converting all our documents to JasperReports (see iReport for details). I'm not sure how you're using the OpenOffice server; we use it for mail merging (filling out forms for customers). If you need to convert things to PDF, I'd recommend iText.
=============================
javaworld.com/community/?q=node/2993
To start openoffice3 in server mode, use this
soffice -headless accept="socket,host=localhost,port=8100;urp" &
------------------------------------------------
=============================
community.nuxeo.com
youtube.com/watch?v=FJglLZuU_hI 
Nuxeo is an Open Source Platform for Enterprise Content Management enabling architects and developers to build, deploy and run the best content-driven applications in an easy way.
Nuxeo applications can be configured with no programming experience, and extended using standardJava EE technologies.
http://community.nuxeo.com/5.3/books/nuxeo-book/html/admin-openoffice.html
See http://www.openoffice.org/ for installation procedure if not provided by your OS.

46.1.1. Start server

Since version 2.3, OpenOffice can be started in headless mode. This means that under linux, you non longer need to run a Xvfb.
Use the oooctl control script or, depending on your system and installation method, start OOo running :
  • for Linux:
    /path/to/openoffice/program/soffice.bin
                -headless -nofirststartwizard
                -accept="socket,host=localhost,port=8100;urp;StarOffice.Service"
  • for Mac OS X:
    /path/to/openoffice.app/Contents/MacOS/soffice.bin
                -headless -nofirststartwizard
                -accept="socket,host=localhost,port=8100;urp;StarOffice.Service"
  • for Windows:
    soffice.exe -headless
                -nofirststartwizard
                -accept="socket,host=localhost,port=8100;urp;StarOffice.Service"

46.1.2. Parameters

46.1.2.1. -headless

The -headless switch lets OOo manage to answer every question that may occur with a default response avoiding dead-locks. It also hides the OOo windows if a display is available by default (eg. Ms Windows). Note that the -invisible switch is not used as it is redundant and errors on PDF exports may occur.

46.1.2.2. -nofirststartwizard

The -nofirststartwizard skips any post-install wizard, allowing to use OOo directly after the installation without any user parameterization.
Install nxSkipInstallWizard.oxt extension to make this parameter permanent.

46.1.2.3. -accept

The UNO protocol implies that OOo is opened in listening mode on a network interface. This parameter let OOo listen on the right interface and port.
Install nxOOoAutoListen.oxt extension to set this listening permanent.
Alternate method: this could also be done by adding this connection info in OOo Setup.xcu configuration file.
oor:name="Office"> 
  oor:name="ooSetupConnectionURL"> 
    socket,host=localhost,port=8100;urp;StarOffice.Service 
   

46.1.3. Installing an extension

Nuxeo has developed some tools to ease the settings, they are available at the Nuxeo svn tools ooo section as extensions to install in OpenOffice. This can be done thru the GUI via the menu "Tools>Extensions Manager>Add..." or by opening the wanted extension with OpenOffice. To do it from a command line, run:
/path/to/openoffice/program/unopkg add extension.oxt

46.1.4. Notes

46.1.4.1. Multi-machine

On multi-machine deployment, we recommend to install OOo on the server running the webapp (ie stateless server on a bi-machine "stateless/stateful" installation).
=============================
An opensource java based library  allows you to work with open office documents without open office, thus removing the need for the OOserver.
jOpenDocument is a free library for developers looking to use Open Document files without OpenOffice.org.
jOpenDocument is Open Source (under GPL or commercial license).
You can automate the document creation and manipulation process. You can use jOpenDocument to:
  • - Generate dynamic documents from Java, XML or databases
  • - Display and print files with built-in viewers
  • - Split, concatenate, and manipulate pages
  • - Automate filling out of template (created by OpenOffice or not)
  • - Use your preferred langage via standard ScriptEngine interface
  • - And much more...

=============================
Web-based spreadsheets with OpenOffice.org and Dojo

Preparing OpenOffice.org

OpenOffice.org is a cross-platform office suite. It is based on a component model called Universal Network Objects, or UNO, which allows components to communicate across the network oblivious to the platform they run on and the language they were written in. Though it's usually thought of as a desktop application, OpenOffice.org can be also run in server mode. In this mode, OpenOffice.org listens to a network port for connections. You can connect to an OpenOffice.org server running either on a local or remote computer and use the UNO environment to work with documents. UNO libraries for both client and server modes are part of the standard OpenOffice.org distribution. The libraries required for a client to access an OpenOffice.org server are:
  • juh.jar
  • jurt.jar
  • ridl.jar
  • unoil.jar
You can find these JAR files in the directory where you installed OpenOffice.org.
OpenOffice.org can be started in server mode and prepared to accept network connections with the following command line:
soffice -accept=socket,host=localhost,port=8100;urp
With the client libraries in the classpath, it then takes the client side several lines of code to construct an access point to the running OpenOffice.org -- an instance of the Java classcom.sun.star.frame.Desktop. All OpenOffice.org application windows are organized in a hierarchy of frames that contain viewable components. The desktop is the root frame for this hierarchy. From the desktop, you can load viewable components, access frames and components, terminate the application, traverse the frame hierarchy, and dispatch command requests. Thecom.sun.star.frame.Desktop class, which is a part of UNO, represents this desktop; thus, it is the root management point for all OpenOffice.org application frameworks.
If OpenOffice.org is running on a local computer, things are much easier; client libraries do most of the job, and they will even start OpenOffice.org for you, as shown in Listing 1.
READ MORE at link

Saturday, July 3, 2010

Otra instancia de Open Office

... está accediendo a su configuración personal o la configuración personal está bloqueada.
Fuente
Perfil de usuario arruinado... Intentar reiniciarlo siguiendo la tercer entrada de esta guía:
perfil de usuario de OOo
Guía basada en la original publicada por Hagar de l'Est
OOo almacena todos los datos relacionados con el usuario en una carpeta dedicada, generalmente llamada perfil. Es posible localizar el lugar donde se encuentra esta carpeta en el siguiente menú de OOo: Herramientas → Opciones → OpenOffice.org → Rutas. La mayor parte de las carpetas mencionadas en ese diálogo se encuentran en el perfil de usuario de OOo.
NOTA: de aquí en más representa el nombre con el cual se ingresa al sistema durante el «log-in».
Para usuarios Windows:
- Antes de Vista: \Documents and Settings\\Application Data\OpenOffice.org\3\user
- A partir de Vista: \Users\\AppData\Roaming\OpenOffice.org\3\user
NOTA: dependiendo de la versión de Windows instalada, «Application Data» podría ser «Datos de programa»
Para usuarios GNU/Linux:
- /home//.openoffice.org/3/user
NOTA: esto es para los paquetes «oficiales» construidos por Sun. Las distribuciones Linux suelen crear paquetes propios que se instalan en directorios diferentes. Por ejemplo, en la versión de Novell el perfil de usuario se encuentra en /home//.ooo3/
Para usuarios Mac:
- /Users//Library/Application Support/OpenOffice.org/3/user
Estas carpetas están «ocultas», por lo que para verlas deberá activar la opción de su administrador de archivos que le permita ver archivos y carpetas ocultas.
NOTA: en las versiones anteriores de OOo la ubicación era ligeramente distinta:
. . . ./openoffice.org2/user/
--------------------------------------
Los archivos en su perfil de usuario pueden corromperse en algunas ocasiones (por ejemplo, ante una caída del sistema cuando estaba usted utilizando OOo). Si usted nota algún comportamiento extraño de OOo, o si simplemente éste falla en iniciar, la primer cosa a probar es reiniciar el perfil de usuario. Para esto, haga lo siguiente:
  1. Renombre la carpeta con su perfil de usuario(cambiando /usuario/ por /viejo-usuario/, por ejemplo): no es necesario borrarla y de hecho algo podría rescatarse (por ejemplo, sus plantillas).
  2. Reinicie OOo. De esta forma un nuevo perfil se generará (tendrá que pasar por la pantalla de bienvenida nuevamente)
  3. Compruebe si su problema se ha resuelto.
    • Si el problema persiste puede restaurar el perfil anterior ya que no era ese el problema (borre la carpeta nueva y vuelva a dar a la vieja el nombre correcto).
    • Si el problema se ha resuelto uno o varios de los archivos del perfil de usuario están dañados… pero no necesariamente todos. Si usted ha personalizado fuertemente su instalación de OOo, podrá aún recuperar algo de ese trabajo: reemplace, una por una, las carpetas de su viejo perfil en el nuevo, reiniciando cada vez OOo para ver cuál de las carpetas es la que lo hace fallar.
NOTA: si usted tenía instalada anteriormente una versión de OOo 2.x y está ahora reiniciando el perfil de la 3.x, al lanzar OOo este le preguntará si quiere importar sus datos personales desde la versión anterior: debe decir que NO.

NOTA IMPORTANTE: Antes de modificar el perfil de usuario asegúrese que ha cerrado completamente OOo, esto incluye cerrar el acceso rápido que se encuentra en la bandeja del sistema.
CONSEJO: Al parecer la carpeta uno_packages (ver más abajo) es la más propensa a dañarse durante una actualización, especialmente cuando se tienen extensiones complejas, por lo que si algo no funciona luego de actualizar un primer intento podría ser borrarla/renombrarla (IMPORTANTE: se eliminarán todas las extensiones instaladas por el usuario).
----------------------------------------
Contenido del perfil

El perfil de usuario contiene varias sub-carpetas altamente especializadas:
  • autocorr: la tabla de sustitución que puede configurarse en Herramientas → Opciones de autocorrección (esto es en la versión 3.1.x, en versiones anteriores era Herramientas → Corrección automática).
  • autotext: los «autotextos» (Editar → AutoTexto) creados por usted.
  • backup: las copias de seguridad de sus archivos que se generan si usted activa la opción «Crear siempre copia de seguridad» en Herramientas → Opciones → Cargar/Guardar → General.
  • basic: contiene todas las macros por usted instaladas.
  • config: algunos archivos de configuración.
  • database: las bases de datos registradas.
  • gallery: la galería personal (Herramientas → Galería).
  • psprint: posiblemente utilizada para exportar a pdf.
  • registry: contiene la mayor parte de los archivos de configuración, y es la carpeta con mayores probabilidades de presentar problemas, especialmente en la sub-carpeta /data/org/openoffice/Office/
  • Scripts: Si alguien lo sabe, avise…
  • store: ídem anterior
  • temp: archivos temporales, como por ejemplo los reportes del programa de mejoras (en la versión 3.1.x)
  • template: aquí se almacenan sus plantillas personales (Archivo → Plantillas → Administrar → Mis plantillas).
  • uno_packages: aquí se almacenan todas las extensiones instaladas solo para el usuario.
  • wordbook: contiene los diccionarios personales
Algunos «archivos sueltos» podrían encontrarse allí también, como la información de la registración y (a partir de 3.1) un archivo del programa de mejoras.
Algunas extensiones (como OOoLatex) podrían agregar otras carpetas.
Es de hacer notar que además del perfil de usuario, OOo considerará la configuración hecha para todos los usuarios, la que se encuentra en subcarpetas de la carpeta de instalación principal del programa (/opt/openoffice.org3/share/ en Linux para la versión oficial de Sun —si se utiliza la versión de su distribución la carpeta podría ser diferente— o \Program files\OpenOffice.org3\share en Windows)
--------------------------------------
Cambiando la localización del perfil de usuario
En el primer mensaje de esta guía se encuentran las localizaciones por defecto del directorio con el perfil de usuario de OOo para una instalación típica. La localización de este directorio puede ser modificada editando un archivo cuyo nombre depende del sistema operativo:
- bootstraprc en sistemas tipo *nix
- bootstrap.ini en Windows
Este archivo se encuentra en:
- /opt/openoffice.org3/program/bootstraprc en sistemas Linux
- \program\bootstrap.ini en Windows
Para modificar el directorio donde se creará el perfil de usuario debe editarse el valor de la variable «UserInstallation»
El valor por defecto es
UserInstallation=$SYSUSERCONFIG/
donde dependerá del sistema operativo
.openoffice.org/3 para sistemas Linux
\AppData\Roaming\OpenOffice.org\3 para windows Vista
etcétera
$SYSUSERCONFIG se refiere al directorio donde se guardan los datos del usuario en la computadora, no es un directorio específico de OOo. Por ejemplo, $SYSUSERCONFIG representa /home/ en Linux o \Users\ en windows Vista.
NOTA: antes de modificar este archivo, en necesario cerrar todas las instancias de OOo, incluido el «inicio rápido» de la bandeja del sistema.
Esto puede ser útil para tener varias versiones de OOo simultáneamente (por ejemplo para probar las versiones de desarrollo y reportar errores ;) ), como así también, en un ambiente empresarial, para que varios usuarios compartan el mismo perfil.
Por ejemplo, en sistemas Linux puede cambiarse
UserInstallation=$SYSUSERCONFIG/.openoffice.org/3
por
UserInstallation=$SYSUSERCONFIG/.Nuevo_directorio
para un cambio «local», o por
UserInstallation=file:///home/Una_carpeta/.Un_lugar
para que el perfil sea compartido por todos los usuarios de esa computadora.
NOTA: estas configuraciones las he probado solamente en Linux y con una instalación «local» (última entrada de la guía Instalando la versión «oficial» de OOo en Linux)
-----------------------------------
Cambiar los permisos a la carpeta en la que openoffice guarda la configuración. 
Como root...
# cd ~ && pwd && ls -l .ooo3/
Cuando te dice que la configuración está bloqueada da la impresión de estar diciendo que no puede entrar a dicha carpeta para leer la configuración.
Entonces lo que hay que hacer es probar a ver si al abrir completamente la carpeta donde están guardadas las preferencias/configuraciones el problema se soluciona.
---> Dar permisos de acceso total a la carpeta.
La carpeta en cuestión es una carpeta oculta, en linux las carpetas ocultas empiezan por .
Puedes hacerlo también por interfaz gráfica:
Si tienes KDE haz visibles los archivos ocultos y dale clic derecho sobre la carpeta .ooo3, luego selecciona la pestaña permisos y dale en las tres opciones visualizar y modificar el contenido, y no olvides habilitar abajo donde dice aplicar cambios a todas las subcarpetas.
con eso debería funcionar.
Una solución más drástica: eliminar la carpeta .ooo3 y reinicia openoffice. 
Eso resolverá todo y de paso tendrás que reconfigurar tus preferencias (porque pues borraste todo, incluyendo el problema). 
Al haber borrado la carpeta, la siguiente vez que ejecutes OpenOffice.org éste creará la carpeta tal y como debe. Por tanto, no es necesario que modifiques a mano los permisos, o al menos no debería ser necesario. Mi consejo sería que los devolvieses a su valor previo (y si no te acuerdas de cuál era, pues borra la carpeta y vuelve a abrir OpenOffice.org de nuevo ;) ).
En base a la descripción del problema y la solución que te funcionó diría, aunque no puedo asegurarlo, que el problema era que en .ooo3 había quedado un archivo lock perdido. Los archivos lock suelen utilizarse para saber si ya hay otra instancia de una aplicación ejecutándose, o para evitar que varias instancias puedan modificar la configuración simultáneamente.
¿Por qué estaba ahí el archivo lock? Vaya ud. a saber... Pero por el mensaje de error que pusiste tiene muchas papeletas de ser lo que sucedió.

Tuesday, November 18, 2008

Bussines Cards | Open Source

Source
openoffice docs
http://www.gimp.org/
http://inkscape.org/index.php
http://www.scribus.org.uk/

There's gLabels: http://glabels.sourceforge.net/
There's a Ubuntu package for it to if you open up the universe in your repositories and do a:
#sudo apt-get install glabels

Here is a great source for business card templates:
http://www.jukeboxprint.com/freetemplate.php

I use Inkscape for vector illustration then import into Scribus for publication (I use this professionally), though if its a simpler design it can all be done in Scribus (recommended to begin with).

a) Create an artboard (new page)

If there's any elements touching or extending past the edges, then Leave 5mm bleed all round, i.e. if the finished size is 90mm by 50mm, then create a file 100mm by 60mm and draw crop marks on a new layer or just tell the printer you know and trust that you've added 5mm bleed (easier).
b) Colours
- Trick is to start by removing all unused colours then
- Create colours individually
- Making sure all colours are CMYK (or spot depending on printing)
c) DESIGN!
d) Save art, then outline all text.
e) export
Export it to PDF, and best practise is to make it X-3, but this option is only available when colour management is on (try little CMS).
ITYM: Business Card Templates

Business cards

Source
OpenOffice.org 2 Writer:


File > New > Business Cards...

Click Medium
Set the brand to Avery Letter Size
Set the Type to 5371 - Business Card - White

Click Business Cards. Select a style. Note that you can edit the style once you finish the the wizard.
Click Personal. Check the information to go on the card.
Click Business. Check the information to go on the card.
Click Options. Ensure Entire Page is selected.
Click New Document
Edit the format, text and images on the first copy of the business cards (if desired).
Click Synchronize.
Load your printer with Letter sized Business Card weight US Letter sized paper, or with Avery 5371 card stock.
Click Options. Ensure Entire Page is selected.Make sure Synchronize is checked. (The Synchronize button will cause all changes made to the 1st card to be passed on to all other cards.
File Print


Source
Preparing to design
My suggestion is to avoid the Business Cards selection altogether, and click instead on File -> New -> Labels. You won't really miss the business cards' use of fields, or their format options, and can avoid the irritation of working around them.
In the Labels tab in the Labels window, make sure that the format is set to Sheet, then choose the Brand and Type for the sheet layout. This choice is usually hit or miss unless you have a particular brand on hand, but Avery Letter Size 5371 and Avery A4 L7413 are your best choices. Note that you are not necessarily going to use the designated sheet for printing your business cards -- it's just a template so that you can print multiple cards from the same page.
Then go to the Options tab, and make sure that Synchronize contents is selected. This option will allow you to add the design to only one card on the sheet, then populate the rest of the cards with the design.
When you are finished, click the New Document button. You'll see a Synchronize Labels button floating in the window, but ignore it for now.

Go to Tools -> Options -> OpenOffice.org Writer -> Grid, and select Visible Grid to give you guidelines for your design. You should also adjust the horizontal and vertical grid to 1-4 points, so that the grid is useful in the small space of a business card. Finally, select View -> Toolbars -> Drawing so that you can add graphical text, which will be easier to use than regular text in your design.
As you will soon find, you are limited to adding material only to the first card in the upper left corner of the document. For this reason, you can select View -> Zoom to get a larger view of the first card until you are ready to populate the other cards with your design.
Design considerations
Business card layouts are an exercise in minimalist design. With only six square inches in which to work, you have no space to waste.

For this reason, I suggest keeping the text on the front of the card to the minimum: your name, your company's name, and your main email address and telephone, and, perhaps, a company or personal slogan. If people really need more, you can always put it on the back of the card (see below).
In this minimalist setting, you'll find that the basic principles of design really come to your attention. You'll want contrast between your text and its background -- that is, dark text on a light background, or light text on a dark background. Possibly, you will have room for a third main color -- but not more. Your selection of colors may be determined by your company's, but if your company's colors were professionally selected, they probably provide a ready made contrast anyway. You can apply the background by placing a rectangle of the proper color over the entire card.
You'll want to place related items close together, which means that the card will have one to three blocks of text: all the information together; your name and company in one block and your contact information in another, and possibly a third for a slogan. Chances are, you'll also want to give related text the same alignment, providing a visual clue for readers of your cards.

In your limited space, you also want to keep the design simple, using only one typeface, or possibly two. If your company doesn't already have a specific font that it uses in its advertising, a sans serif or slab serif will generally maximize readability on the card. Whatever font you use, make sure that its size is at least 8 points, and 10 or 12 if possible. Remember, too, that, the smaller the font size, the more space you need between lines for readability.
These are simple principles, but they are regularly ignored by beginning designers. A surprising number of amateurs, for instance, think that putting one piece of contact information in each corner of the card is stylish. The truth is, such a design is only cluttered and hard to read.
For visual content, an already-designed company logo, or one of your digital photos are good choices -- either ensures originality and avoids any potential licensing problems. Another alternative is the Open Clip Art Library, or perhaps free-licensed photos from Flickr or another photo-sharing site. If you have trouble deciding on an image, a texture -- a closeup of rock or fabric, for example, often gives an interesting background. If necessary, you can use either OpenOffice.org Draw or the GIMP to edit the visual to suit.

Nowadays, an increasing number of cards are two-sided. This practice has the advantage of allowing the front to focus on creating a visual impression with a minimum of text. The back can be a reversal of the front's foreground and background, and contain more detailed contact information than the front. Another use of the back can be a form that allows recipients to quickly record where they met you and any actions they promised to undertake as the result of the meeting. Create a separate page for the back, using the same technique as for the front.
These are the basic considerations for designing your card. The rest is a matter of trial and error, of adding elements to the card and resizing and moving them about. When you have added the lines in each text block using the Text tool on the Draw toolbar, you can select Format -> Group -> Group to move all the lines of the block around together.
Don't be surprised if getting a satisfactory design takes all evening, or even a couple of days of work. Any design, especially a minimalist one, is more effort than it looks.
Producing your cards
When you are finished the design, click the floating Synchronize Labels button. In a few seconds, the design on the first card will be replicated on all the others.